Christmas is here.

Christmas is getting close and here I am thousands of miles from those I call family. Of course I have made new friends and family here but it just does not feel the same. I remember growing up when we would all sit down around our big dining table and eat together as family. My mother would cook some delicious meals, I can almost taste each one of them as I am writing. The sweet aroma in the kitchen that would keep everyone from going anywhere far from home still lingers in the back of my head. Then she would serve it with love and a perfect smile on her face. That’s what I call love. Everyone would look forward to dig into their food but not without a word of prayer and thanksgiving. While holding hands and all eyes closed, the sweet soothing voice of my mother would raise and say a prayer then the feast would begin. How I look forward for only one of those days when all nine of us including mom and dad would sit down together and just be merry and talk throughout the day then visit with other relatives.

Family is the most important thing. I thank God for keeping each one of us alive and I just want to say that I love each one of them for they have made me the man that I am today. Although they might not be here I believe one of these days we shall be able to sit down together and have one of those merry merry christmas meals that we used to have years ago before life separated us.

Merry christmas to all!

Leave a Reply

