Just believe

The other day I was having a discussion with my elder brother about Christianity and giving, so it brought me to think about its simplicity. It is so easy that it is hard to understand and that is why a lot of people are misled. Here is my insight to you that I hope brings light to your misunderstanding;
Unbeliever: There are so many religions to choose from, why only Christianity?
Believer: I choose to follow Christ, the one and only son of the true God.
Unbeliever: Are there false gods?
Believer: So many than you can imagine but only one is true, the creator of heaven and earth.
Unbeliever: So you think the world was created? You are disqualifying the scientists’ theories?
Believer: Strongly including the evolution of man. Why the apes are still apes? Genesis 1:1-28 is what I believe in.
Unbeliever: You speak with so much passion and assurance. How positive are you about the things you speak?
Believer: Very positive? Hebrews 11:1, I do not have to see to believe, I believe because I have read and heard.
Unbeliever: There are many written literatures in the world, how do you choose one out of the rest?
Believer: First of all I would like to say that without faith you can never please God, therefore I just believe. Yes the bible was written by man but inspired by, and the reason I know this is because it has been written and I believe. 2 Timothy 3:16.
Unbeliever: So you are saying all I need to do is just believe? That is the dumbest thing ever?
Believer: Very good point, you said it right. John 3:16, if you believe in Jesus Christ you will be saved and not die.
Unbeliever: Do you consider yourself holy?
Believer: If I say I am holy I will be turning God into a liar, so the answer is NO. 1 John 1:10, Romans 3:23. Nobody is holy, not even the pope.
Unbeliever: So how do you expect to get to heaven?
Believer: the Bible tells me that if I believe I will not die but have everlasting life. That is all I have to do, those are the instructions although there are duties that come along with being a Christian besides just believing. 2nd Corinthians 5:17, Romans 12:2. You will need to strive for purity and no longer do the things you used to although no one is perfect.
“There is no perfect church. If you find one and you join, then it becomes imperfect for no one is perfect”, Dr. Billy Graham
Unbeliever: Make me understand more.
Believer: Ephesians 2:8-9, Galatians 2:16, Romans 3:20, 28. However we strive to keep the law or do good, we come short (Matthew 26:41). God is merciful and sees our hearts, therefore he devices a way to save us. His grace is abundant. At the same time he urges us not to keep sinning because He has given us grace, for sin will bring us death (Romans 6:1-7). Therefore it’s not by what you do that will get you to heaven but at the same time faith without works is like dead. That is why you have to work for God using the talents He has bestowed upon us.
Unbeliever: Wow, how do I become a Christian?
Believe: Just believe…
Unbeliever: (sobs) I believe, I believe.

Leave a Reply

