What’s in the age?

When I was in my early 20’s my mother always told I needed to grow and quit acting like a child. Of course those words were hurtful and didn’t understand what they meant. In my opinion I was a grown man. 21, 22, 23, and the same words kept coming out of her mouth. It sounded like a trend so I decided to be aware of the things that preceded the annoying, “you need to grow up” phrase.
One time a friend of mine called me and asked me to take them to a different state to visit the parents. I did. When my mother found out that I had driven my car and paid for the gas for a friend to go visit the parents and then came the phrase again. I realized she meant that I wasn’t smart enough. As you age, the world is watching to see if you are making smart choices. I am much older now, and knows better.
I had my first apartment at 21, and would have parties nearly every weekend on my expense. I was fine with people walking all up in my space and doing whatever they pleased. Again when my mother found out she barked like a dog. “You need to grow up”. I realized she was talking about responsibility. When you grow, you learn to become more responsible. You begin to respect your space and spend money more carefully.
Whenever I anticipated something exciting in my life I would blurt out and tell the neighborhood. My mother was infuriated by this and reminded me that I should grow up. Then I realized that quiet water run deepest. She loves to say that we were given two ears and one so that we can listen twice as much as we speak. Grown ups choose their words carefully.

What is your understanding of age?

Leave a Reply

